My routine before Polish

29 Sep

Ok. So, when I created this blog, I said “I’d like to help others take care of their nails” and of course, for myself, learn to better care for my own nails. I’ve learned a lot thanks to many many other nail blogging fanatics. I’ve learned to never go without a few things when doing my nails. This blog will talk about a few of them. Let me know what you think. If you have any questions, I’ll try my best to answer them, since I’m still getting the hang of my BLOG! Ah! 🙂

Ok. So first step of course is removing all old nail polish. Here, I use regular nail polish remover. Right now, I’m using Target’s brand of nail polish-non acetone.

After removing all polish, I then go back and apply my cuticle oil which I LOVE! I bought it at WalMart for $5. It’s awesome and as my best friend said “you’ll never in your life ever need to buy cuticle oil ever again”. lol. So here’s my cuticle oil:

After that, I rub it in, massage my fingers, the cuticles, around my nail (where I tend to bite off dead skin and I HATE it!) and then push cuticles back using cuticle pusher. Which, I recommend being gentle as not to rip or tear them. Small cuts and nail polish don’t go well together. While that’s setting in and doing my cuticles a favor, I usually file and reshape any chipped nails (I work in a library so books don’t preserve my hard work) or just trim them. Then I swipe over nails-and nails only, not going over skin to remove oil-to clean my nail and prep for base coat.

My base coat is by (which all throughout my usage, has been referred as SV) Seche Vite (love it). This is also suppose to work as a matte finish…NOT. But does wonders as a base coat. So here is my base coat:

After applying base coat-which dries amazingly fast, I’m ready for my first coat of color. 🙂 So here is the final image of all my things needed before color goes on:

Doing all of this has greatly improved the condition of my cuticles and the strength of my nails. I hope it helps you. Let me know of any nail care tips you have. 🙂

2 Responses to “My routine before Polish”

  1. ceciliasclaws October 10, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    I’ve heard the Pro-FX cuticle oil is supposed to be good. I’ve never used oil, always just cuticle cream and then lots and lots of handcream, applied throughout the day. I still get peeling cracked, disgusting skin around my nails sometimes though, so I’m going to look out for this product. I have never seen it in the UK though.

    I just stumbled upon your blog, very cute!

    • Lacquer Addictions October 12, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

      @ceciliasclaws: i also use lots of hand creams throughout the day. My new found favorite is Aquafor’s healing ointment. I thought it was hand cream when i bought it. but it is amazing. I also use e.l.f brand cuticle pen through out day so I don’t have to carry around my huge bottle of Pro-Fx.

      And thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

