First Marble

23 Oct

It’s been a crazy day for my nails. Last night, I did my first attempt at a marble mani. I will say it is not what I’d hoped for but I’m glad I finally tried it out and “tested the water”. πŸ™‚ Here’s how it went:

I started with 2 coats of Orly’s “Powder Puff”, which is a lovely, slightly off-white color. I wanted my colors to pop nicely so that’s the reason for my base color. I topped this off with SV.

*with flash*

I then took four colors: a hot pink (not labeled with brand/name), Sinful Color’s “Snow Me White” and “Black on Black” and Wet’N’Wild’s “Metallica” (silver). I did not have a small bowl or cup low enough for dipping so I simply cut a plastic cup down to what I thought was a good size. I taped off my thumb and began my drops. I did the pink first and the unnamed bottle spread so good! I was excited and at this point, very optimistic. πŸ™‚ I then did silver, white, pink, black and went with rotating them. the black and white did not spread so good. But, here’s how my thumb- the first dunked- came out.

*with flash*

I cannot tell you how ecstatic and excited and proud I was! I was like, “Yes! It’s going to be fast and easy and look great!” Boy, did I speak too soon! Lol! Here’s how the whole mani came out. I was VERY disappointed and aggravated with the outcome.

*with flash*

After my first dunk, my designs kept getting pulled up with my toothpick or I didn’t know how to recreate the first pretty, even marble design. And it was a MESS!

*with flash*

But, as I said, I’m glad I finally tried- even though it was a PAIN IN THE NECK! I ended up trying to spruce it up and hated it more. lol. But, better luck next time? If there is a next time!

Thanks for stopping by for this marble madness mani! πŸ™‚ I hope your marble patterns come out a lot better! Happy painting! -Sara

2 Responses to “First Marble”

  1. workplaypolish October 26, 2012 at 7:23 am #

    I think this turned out beautifully! I’ve tried marbling three separate times with disastrous results! I don’t know why…I follow the instructions to the letter! :O

    • Lacquer Addictions October 26, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

      Thanks, so much, Leslie! I appreciate it. The instructions are VERY complicated. I have no idea how many times I pulled up the whole thing. Grr! I understand your frustration completely! I’d love to see yours. As talented as you are, I’m sure yours came out so pretty! Have you posted them? I find that when I usually don’t like a mani, lots of other people do. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

